Go to Duke Events
  • Takács Quartet & Garrick Ohlsson

    Series Name:

    Duke Performances


    Duke Performances

    Bryan Center Reynolds Industries Theater - Map


    $30 general - $5 Duke students





    BEETHOVEN: String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 131 SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Quintet in G Minor, Op. 57 (with Garrick Ohlsson, piano) ###The esteemed Takács, one of the world's premier string quartets, returns to Duke Performances. Since forming in Budapest 36 years ago, the Takács has perfected its trademark of "overwhelming intensity" (The Guardian). Their protean rapport is ideal for one of Beethoven's finest chamber music creations, where seven continuous movements flow together to create an extended moment of intricate beauty. Equally exciting is the guest appearance by outstanding pianist Garrick Ohlsson, a Chopin International Piano Competition winner with more than 80 concertos in his repertoire, who joins the Takács to perform Shostakovich's effervescent Piano Quintet in G Minor.

    More Information

    Concert/Music and Student