Skip to main content
Browse by:

Takács Quartet & Garrick Ohlsson

Event Image
Icon calendar
Saturday, March 17, 2012
Icon time
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Icon series
Duke Performances

BEETHOVEN: String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 131 SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Quintet in G Minor, Op. 57 (with Garrick Ohlsson, piano) ###The esteemed Takács, one of the world's premier string quartets, returns to Duke Performances. Since forming in Budapest 36 years ago, the Takács has perfected its trademark of "overwhelming intensity" (The Guardian). Their protean rapport is ideal for one of Beethoven's finest chamber music creations, where seven continuous movements flow together to create an extended moment of intricate beauty. Equally exciting is the guest appearance by outstanding pianist Garrick Ohlsson, a Chopin International Piano Competition winner with more than 80 concertos in his repertoire, who joins the Takács to perform Shostakovich's effervescent Piano Quintet in G Minor.