Skip to main content
Browse by:

Screen/Society--Lewis Klahr: Open Eyed Sleep

"Open Eyed Sleep": a selection of urban collage films (1991-2016) by Lewis Klahr

A special program of master collagist Lewis Klahr's his uniquely idiosyncratic experimental films and cutout animations.

Full Program

Two Hours to Zero (1994, 8:34) [Music by Rhys Chatham "Guitar Trio"]

The Silver Age (2015, 8m) [From Klahr's feature length series Sixty Six]

April Snow (2010, 10m)

The Nimbus Trilogy (26:30)

Nimbus Smile (2009, 8:30)

Nimbus Seeds (2009, 8:30)

Cumulonimbus (2010, 9:30)

High Rise (2016, 2m)

City Film (1991, 16m, silent) [Super 8 transferred to digital]

False Aging (2008,15m)

Total program running time: 1hr. 26m

"Above all, Klahr's great subject is time, which certainly explains the exquisitely melancholy tone that pervades his work. He traffics in modes that are pitched just beyond the realm of reason. Somewhere between waking and sleeping, we can find that wavelength and achieve understanding-- only to have it slip away as we enter one state or the other. Klahr's films and videos provide a rare opportunity for us to engage with a liminal state of consciousness with our alert mind and to reach those "infrathin" moments that Proust describes as existing outside of time." -- Chris Stults, Assistant Curator Film/Video Wexner Center for the Arts from "Collective Unconscious" an article in Film Comment, May/June 2010

Contact: Hank Okazaki