Skip to main content
Browse by:

Vadym Kholodenko

Photo of Vadym Kholodenko
Sunday, October 22, 2023
7:00 pm
Duke Arts Presents 2023-24 Piano Recital Series

Ukrainian pianist Vadym Kholodenko captured the attention of the global music press a decade ago when he took home the Gold Medal in the prestigious Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. He has appeared on the world's leading stages with top orchestras and conductors, but he brings his trademark breadth of repertoire to Duke Arts with a solo recital.  

With a program spanning over 250 years, Kholodenko opens with a suite by Handel which is perceived to be one of the main pillars of the Baroque composer's keyboard music. Audiences will also be treated to sonatas by Haydn and Beethoven, both a slight break from the composers' usual compositional approaches. Kholodenko shows his technical prowess and bold programming with Thomas Adès's Traced Overhead, the longest of the British composer's solo piano works - all profoundly expressive and immensely colorful. Phrases tumble over one another in a uniquely contemporary soundworld. Kholodenkho finally returns to the Romantic stylings of Liszt, with pieces from his masterful Années de pèlerinage, or 'Years of Pilgrimage'.


Subscribe to the Piano Recital Series for $150 for four concerts. Learn more at

Contact: Yesenia Yanez