Skip to main content
Browse by:

Red Clay Saxophone Quartet

Duke saxophone faculty Susan Fancher, soprano saxophone; Laurent Estoppey, alto saxophone; Steven Stusek, tenor saxophone; and Mark Engebretson, baritone saxophone.

Works include Philip Glass: "Concerto," Andrew Stiller: "Chamber Symphony," and Steven Bryant: "Dusk."

Free admission.

If you are unable to attend this concert in person, livestream it at:

View the complete program:

The Red Clay Saxophone Quartet was formed in 2003 when the fates conspired to bring four internationally recognized saxophonists (Susan Fancher, Robert Faub, Steven Stusek and Mark Engebretson) together in Greensboro, North Carolina. In January 2022, Laurent Estoppey joined the quartet on alto saxophone. The RCSQ takes its name from the area's luscious red soil. The Quartet presents a varied repertoire from classical to jazz to new music to tango, featuring music by composers such as Chen Yi, Ben Johnston, James Paul Sain, György Ligeti, Guillermo Lago, Francis Poulenc, Alejandro Rutty, Steve Reich, Mark Engebretson, David Maslanka, Martin Bresnick, Burton Beerman, and Gavin Bryars.