Skip to main content
Browse by:

Saxophone Masterclass with Cliff Leaman & Joseph Lallo

Duke Music masterclasses are free and open to the public.

Professor of saxophone and Associate Dean at the School of Music at the University of South Carolina, Clifford Leaman received the Master of Music and Doctor of Musical Arts degrees in performance from the University of Michigan. He has served on the faculties of Furman University, Eastern Michigan University, and The University of Michigan prior to his appointment at the University of South Carolina. Leaman is in great demand as a soloist and clinician and has performed and taught throughout the U.S., Canada, Italy, Spain, France, Slovenia, Sweden, Australia, Columbia, Croatia, Thailand, Tiawan, and China. He performed as a concerto soloist with the ShenZhen Symphony Orchestra, at the XII and XV World Saxophone Congresses, and the North American Saxophone Alliance's 2006 and 2014 Biennial Conferences. Leaman has released four critically acclaimed CDs of works for saxophone and piano on the Equilibrium label, and has also performed extensively with percussionist Scott Herring, giving concerts and masterclasses throughout the world as the RoseWind Duo.

Joseph Lallo is the Saxophone Lecturer at the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music and Artistic Director of the Melbourne International Saxophone Festival. Passionate about performing new music, he has commissioned and premiered over 50 works for saxophone, and his 2021 recording for ABC Classic was featured in their 'Best of Australian Classical Music' playlist. Joseph is a member of the chamber music ensembles Collide, with cellist Yelian He and pianist Yasmin Rowe; Duo Obax, with oboist Briana Leaman; and the Australian Saxophone Quartet with Joshua Hyde, Mary Osborne and Yo-yo Su. He is a faculty member of the Asia Pacific Saxophone Academy, and has performed and given masterclasses throughout Europe, North America and Asia, including concerts with the Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestra Victoria and China's Xiamen Philharmonic Orchestra.